11/26/09 6:28 PM

Thanksgiving Day! It appears that dad is guarding the pies. I think he’s actually regarding them though.

I used to bake up to a dozen pumpkin pies made from real pumpkins, plus apple and pecan too. I was 25 years younger. This year, 3 1/2 pies, an all time low.

My favorite Thanksgiving Day tradition is making pie crusts with the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade on in the background. There is a comforting delicate sameness to the process that takes me outside of time and into the company of my pie baking grandmothers. I always look forward to that.

Any thoughts to share?

