2/27/10 6:47 PM

Dinner with Ken

Our friend Ken is very ill. Dean wanted to have a nice dinner party for him. It started out planned as a potluck, but since most of the attendees spent the day helping Ken work on his house, I offered to make everybody dinner.

Dinner for thirteen: Roast beef, roasted veggies, coleslaw, broccoli and beet greens, and a cake, all made in the couple of afternoon hours I had between attending a funeral and this dinner party. And it was all quite tasty and very appreciated.

I’d say my logging camp cook grandmother would be proud of me, but really, I think it more likely that she would simply expect me to make it happen. Which is just fine with me, I prefer confidence in my abilities at the outset to surprise at pulling it off…

Any thoughts to share?

