3/23/10 5:40 PM BRIDGE WORK HEAD AHEAD

Bridge Work Head Ahead

This is the most glorious, whimsical, fascinating piece of public art I’ve seen in a long time.

The best thing about it – it wasn’t meant to be public art at all – I don’t suppose anyway. You can only see it from Franklin Blvd, driving toward Springfield or the I-5 South entrance. It stretches the full length of the old I-5 bridge, just on the west side, visible only from below, not on I-5 itself, and there’s no great place to stop and admire all the various recycled road signs interspersed at random angles.

I actually look forward to seeing it every day as I drive home. I’ll be really sad when it’s gone!

Any thoughts to share?

