7/16/10 6:38 PM Gambian Stew

The story leading up to this scene is longer and more complicated than I can ever guess or know. Or so I imagine from the thirty minutes that I spent as a small part of the story.

What I do know is that a deaf woman from Gambia named Isatou was in the backyard of my friends in the depths of south Eugene, cooking a traditional stew on a  Stove Tec rocket stove.

Just the story of how the stove came to be is long and odd enough. At the time I didn’t have the presence of mind to ask what her side of the story was.

Any thoughts to share?

